Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

ok. i need advice. cruel or not. im serious. (long)

Posted by on Apr. 16, 2012 at 2:06 PM
  • 24 Replies

I am 20. I have my high school diploma, and currently trying to obtain my A.S degree. I have a learning disability which I do not know the name of, I was recently diagnosed with the non-ability to learn without a teacher present, as though I have ADD, or the unability to focus unless I have someone right in front of me. I am trying to get my A.S. degree so that I can have a better job. Currently I am a stay at home mom, that cleans houses, and does yard work for income. I previously worked for Checkers, making 8 dollars an hour, working measley hours because my fiance works 12+ hour days every day (leaves when it's dark, comes home when it's dark kind of thing), and barely making it. I had to quit because my mom, who was my sitter went back to work (after being laid off) and she has been helping us money wise as much as she can if we come a little short.

She is about to lose her job, and won't be able to help us, and I cannot allow her to watch my son anymore ( I found out she was abusing him, like literally no joke, slapping him, cussing him.) I wouldn't joke about that. I cannot tell my fiance, he would flip. I mean I am flipping. So I don't know what to do because I don't have a sitter for me to work, but there won't be any help.

How did you momma's do it when you started off. Did you have to have a second job just to pay for childcare (which is what I am considering) Did you go to school full time and take out student loans to survive? (which is another option) Did you get your foot in the door somewhere with benefits? (How did you do that, do you have any pointers?)

I know I am bound to get some pretty rude responses, but I am seriously trying to just do right by my son. We live modestly, and still struggle.