Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How the heck can you homeschool your kids when you can't write a coherent sentence yourself?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

Aaargh! It annoys me to no end. Yes, as parents you should have a say in your child's education, but that does not mean that you should homeschool if you are barely educated yourself. I just wish there was some sort of accountability when it comes to homeschooling.

"We home school 'em. I teach the big ones, and the big ones teach the little ones, but nobody taught me, so the whole thing is an exercise in futility. " Cletus

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 29, 2012 at 4:15 AM
Replies (131-140):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 16 on Apr. 29, 2012 at 10:17 AM

Exactly my point.

Quoting Chris030406:

I am a product of a public education. My children attend a public school.

I hold my degrees in Psychology and Fine Arts. DH, who graduated from a private school, holds his in Criminal Justice. Guess who completed a graduate degree and who didn't? If you guess me, you're correct! Guess who cringes when asked to help either of our 2nd graders with their homework? If you guessed my husband, you're correct!

Education is only as good as the work you put into it. If you simply send your child to school and not help them, it doesn't matter where you send them. Private education does not guarantee success.

Quoting Anonymous:

I cringe when I see public school parents type on here. I wonder how they hell they can help their children with homework.

MrsErdos2011
by on Apr. 29, 2012 at 10:18 AM

Southern part of Michigan, Northern part of Indiana

Quoting mjande4:

That would be where?

Quoting MrsErdos2011:

You can call bull shit all you want. I live in Michiana

Quoting ekralevich:

I call bull shit on what a kindergartner needs to know.  Where do you live?  

Quoting MrsErdos2011: