Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How the heck can you homeschool your kids when you can't write a coherent sentence yourself?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

Aaargh! It annoys me to no end. Yes, as parents you should have a say in your child's education, but that does not mean that you should homeschool if you are barely educated yourself. I just wish there was some sort of accountability when it comes to homeschooling.

"We home school 'em. I teach the big ones, and the big ones teach the little ones, but nobody taught me, so the whole thing is an exercise in futility. " Cletus

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 29, 2012 at 4:15 AM
Replies (991-1000):
anniyahs_mom
by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 3:40 AM
2 moms liked this

No it's just called common sense. I homeschool my daughter.  i graduated high school and attend college.  I do not have a degree though.  I KNOW I am  teaching my daughter more then the schools here in Georgia.  Also I suggest that we be more concerned about OUR children and less invested in the business of others.  So what if they can't teach, just means YOUR kid gets the advantage.  Just saying, let's stop hating on parents who homeschool.  It's not fair.  IT's like hating people who live in Florida or who like to eat cow tongue.  smile

sha_lyn68
by Platinum Member on Apr. 30, 2012 at 3:47 AM

If by America you mean the United States of America, that is not true. There are no federal laws on homeschooling. Homeschooling falls under the state educational laws. In no states does a parent need to pass a test to homeschool their own children. In most states there is no set curriculum, and in many states there is no standardized testing.

Quoting momofpreemieboy: