Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

im unedumacated and i homescool

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I got pregnant at the end of my junior year of high school and due to many unfortunate circumstances I left school. I was an A and B student and my best subjects were math and English. I was highly involved in the arts and took great pride in school. I absolutely loved learning new things. I am so tired of seeing these posts on homeschooling saying that you need to be educated to teach your children at home. Who are you to define educated? I never got my GED and at the moment I don't plan on it. My family is doing well and my children are ahead of most of the children they hang out with who go to regular school. None of my children are old enough for grade school. They are already ahead because I work with them. We also make great use of our daily lives and use things like looking at the rain clouds to teach them lessons. 

I have many college graduate friends I can't honestly hold an intelligent conversation with. I start speaking to them and their eyes glaze over. Are they more equipped to teach my children than I am? I don't need a piece of paper to tell me I'm intelligent because I know I am. I'm also smart enough to realize that there may be a time when their schooling goes way past my ability. When that happens I will seek help from other homeschooling parents and/or tutors. I am not good at every thing but it'll be awhile before I have to worry about all of that. 

Okay now bash away. I know people are going to go through and dissect everything I have written and find something wrong. 

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 30, 2012 at 12:04 AM
Replies (161-170):
BamaMomto4
by Silver Member on Apr. 30, 2012 at 3:31 AM
1 mom liked this