Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I am concerned about my dd.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 16 Replies

I have a dd who is almost 5. She has gone to preschool & was way ahead of the game but I was having some concerns, which the teacher more or less brushed off. I also work with her at home.

My concern is that she may possibly be dyslexic. For example, she will read the word "did" as "bib" or  look at the number 24 & read it as 42 or write the number 7 backwards.This does not happen each time we sit down to work or read, only occasionally. When I brought it  up to the preschool teacher, she said that is normal for children her age. Now, I am not a professional so I kinda just took her at her word. But now I am beginning to rethink it, she will be going to kindergarten & if this is truly a problem, I want to get her the help that she needs.  I am not sure if this is an age thing & she will correct herself as she learns or if I need to step in.

I will be putting in a call to her pedi in the morning. I am just trying to get other mothers perspective. Thank you.

Posted by Anonymous on May. 8, 2012 at 7:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
outtamymynd
by Ruby Member on May. 8, 2012 at 7:26 PM
I'd say that's normal. She's just learning so she's bound to make mistakes.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
MrsJHoward
by Gold Member on May. 8, 2012 at 7:26 PM
I think it normal as well, if at the end of kindergarten she is still having problems then maybe get her tested then.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
baquick
by Ruby Member on May. 8, 2012 at 7:27 PM
It I normal to an extent.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Lyssa0587
by Gold Member on May. 8, 2012 at 7:27 PM