Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Taxes and food stamps

Posted by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:49 PM
  • 253 Replies
1 mom liked this

I am TIRED of being penalized.  I worked my butt off, got my degree, got my career, work hard every day getting up at the crack of dawn to go to work. All school year I am exhausted from getting up so early and working so hard as a full time teacher and a full time mom.  What's my reward? Can I actually be rewarded with some money in MY pocket from all MY hard work?  No!  I have to pay more taxes. I have until the end of August to pay up. I have to somehow pay $4000 to the IRS while not working over the summer, since I'm a teacher. I can't get a job over the summer because, who's going to watch my 3 kids? Childcare is expensive and if I work, I will have that money taken away for childcare anyway. I am going to QUIT my job, get my child tax credits back from the gov't, and get on food stamps so other chumps can pay my way. sounds like a great plan doesn't it? 

by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JADIEBUG
by Silver Member on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:50 PM
3 moms liked this

Tutor. My friend is a teacher and she tutors kids over the summer during hours her husband can be home with the kids. She makes pretty decent money at it too.

lalaboosh
by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:51 PM
3 moms liked this
Lame. Shhhh.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
vicki77433
by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:51 PM

If you are serious, which I doubt, tutor over the summer.  Most of my teacher friends do. 

jcm28
by Gold Member on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:51 PM

you know what my mom use to do that. sometimes working was a waste of time. So use to work on and off.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Jun. 11, 2012 at 3:55 PM
13 moms liked this