Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

do NOT f*** with me or my kid! update at bottom of op!

Posted by on Jun. 13, 2012 at 12:53 AM
  • 93 Replies
4 moms liked this

this might get a tad long:

so my son (19, who is in the Army stationed in texas - i am in missouri) calls my in freak out mode this evening. his car (his baby, a 2007 dodge charger) is stuck in park! its starts and runs fine, but shifter wont move! (ok its not like i am a mechanic, but ya know they call momma when freaked out, lol! oh his dad is in rehab or he wouldve called him...maybe, lol! he often calls me first when freaking out, lol!). 

ok so i have no freaking idea what could be wrong... so i go to google and type in "car stuck in park" - well, well what pops up "dodge charger" - so tonight i have spent hours going through thousands of customer complaints on this exact issue!

i call chrysler 'recall' number (let me pause for a funny: when i told son i called chrsyler he said "ummm... mom i have a dodge, not a chrysler." - i had to explain that they are the same company, lol!) - anyway i give all info and the lady tells me 'no recall for his car" - i tell her that i know for a FACT that there have been recalls for this year of charger for this exact issue! she then says "there are no recalls for HIS car - not for that VIN lot" ... come to find out what she meant but wasnt allowed to say is that: yes there have been recalls for 2007 dodge charges for the shift interlock latch, but only cars made on certain dates at certain plants quailify.

oh let me pause to answer the question on some of your minds: i am doing this for son because he has 1 hour between regular duty and staff duty (6-11pm) for the next 2 weeks so he isnt able to be on computer or phone except for that one hour in which he also needs to eat, shower and change before duty.