Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Getting out of debt. I'm in the process. I'm almost done, I'll tell you how I did it. Added link for credit score post

Posted by on Jun. 28, 2012 at 2:53 PM
  • 199 Replies
18 moms liked this

I considered going anon for this, because people are such assholes and I"m sure people will post about times when we had no money, or I overspent on something. I'm not claiming I'm perfect with money, in fact I'm not good with it at all. I am however better at it than my husband who lucky for us blew $500.00 or so on a "get out of debt" plan that he let sit in the basement and gather dust until I opened it and learned something. I am not going to say this is right for you, I'm not telling anyone that this is how you should live or pay bills. I am simply sharing what I did and what I continue to do. Keep in mind the program is like 15 cd's and a ton of workbooks. I'll just be summing up. I also want to say, that IMO (and this whole thing is my opinion so keep that in mind) it is very hard to be successful without positive thinking and visualization. I think it's important to mention that I had just discovered "The Secret" before I started this program, and the whole first CD in the get out of debt program was explaining "the secret". It is important to focus on what you want, and not what you do not want. Here's how it works and I'll give you a run down on what our debt looked like.

Gross Salary

when we started.  my household income was about 2800 per month net.

rent 1500

utilities back owed 700.00 plus 250.00 monthly

15k in credit card debt 5 cards

737.00 in car payments

400.00 per month groceries

Car insurance 150.00 per month

Income tax owed 3800.00

State taxes owed 4000.00

198.00 per month for cable and internet

130.00 per month phone bill

and $7000 in medical bills