Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

cover letter advic needed.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies

so I have never had to write  cover letter before and I am applying for a cafeteria aide in my dd's school. this is my first attempt. how would you change, tweak this. any advice would be great thanks

July 10, 2012

Dear Mr. Sodrick:

I am interested in the Cafeteria Aide/lunch Aide advertised on the website . I am looking for a job that I can be home for my children after school and other school holidays.  My resume is enclosed for your review. Given my excellent capabilities I would appreciate your consideration for this job opening. My skills are an ideal match for this position

My qualifications are:

Excellent interpersonal and communication skills

Works well as a team and independently

Confident, patient and hard working employee with a healthy and active physique

Thank you for your consideration.

Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 11, 2012 at 8:25 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
luvmymonkeys27
by on Jul. 11, 2012 at 8:42 AM

I think this might help you... I know that you're not applying for a computer position, but the article still pertains to cover letters. 

http://petdance.com/2010/04/dont_confuse_qualifications_with_skills_assumed_of/

Don’t confuse “qualifications” with “skills assumed of everyone”

| 1 Comment

When employers are looking for candidates, the fact that you can tie your shoes and not pee in your pants are just assumed. You’d never see a job for a computer professional advertising:

• Able to get to work on time
  • Knows to go to bathroom and not wet self
  • Can tell ass from hole in ground

So why do candidates put these sorts of filler bullets at the top of their resumes in sections called “Summary of Qualifications”?

• Able to work well with others
  • Strong work ethic