Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

My Husband is giving me the silent treatment. Today is the second day of no words... LOL  Im not very good at being silent. 

So do you give your spouse the silent treatment? Do you last long? How long is the longest for you? Do you feel its an effective way to diffuse an argument?

ginnjuice

by on Jul. 15, 2012 at 9:28 AM
Replies (51-60):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 7 on Jul. 15, 2012 at 12:37 PM

what a pussy

brettsmomma
by ~Tammie~ on Jul. 15, 2012 at 12:53 PM

So am I. Just because he has one bad habit doesn't make him an immature irresponsible person. My OP stated this is the first argument in a year we have had...  O.o

Quoting tginn20:

No- bc I am married to an adult....

ginnjuice

-MidnightKarma-
by Bronze Member on Jul. 15, 2012 at 12:56 PM
1 mom liked this

No we dont give each other the silent treatment. It is counterproductive. We talk things out like adults.

bozobean
by Jennifer on Jul. 15, 2012 at 1:04 PM

I've babysat toddlers who were more reasonable than that. I can understand being silent and moody for a half hour, maybe an hour until he calms down if he's pissed off, but longer than that, unless you've done something truly devastating to him, he's just a passive-aggressive, emotionally abusive jerk.

mom2alyssa_h
by on Jul. 15, 2012 at 1:07 PM

Yup, my husband gives me the silent treatment when he gets mad, so I just tease him about being a 5 year old and talk that much more....lol

jillplusleigha
by on Jul. 15, 2012 at 1:14 PM

The silent treatment just causes hurt feelings by shutting someone out and it doesn't resolve anything. He should just say what's bothering him so everyone can just move on.

Refurbished
by on Jul. 15, 2012 at 1:34 PM

http://thefocusonthefamily.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/the-too-common-abusive-silent-treatment/

Anonymous
by Anonymous 8 on Jul. 15, 2012 at 1:38 PM