Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

skipping the sugar pills safe?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies
I'm thinking about going back on the pill after 5 years on Mirena. I'm not looking forward to having periods again though :( someone told me I can just skip the neutral pills and only take the active pills so I will skip my period altogether. Does anyone know if you can do that or has anyone done it?
Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 10, 2012 at 7:45 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Megan11587
by Platinum Member on Aug. 10, 2012 at 7:46 AM

I've done it, but I don't think it's recommended.  As far as I know it isn't necessarily healthy to skip your period.  But then again, I'm not a doctor lol

angeleyes16
by Silver Member on Aug. 10, 2012 at 7:47 AM
1 mom liked this

When I asked my doctor about the pill where you only get a period every 3 months, she said it was the same thing as the reg. pills, but you only took the sugar pill every three months. I don't know much about that though, I'm not a doc. So here's a bump.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 10, 2012 at 7:49 AM
Hahaha that's what I mean too. I did that years ago once or twice, but never all the time! I wasn't sure if it was a big deal?

Quoting Megan11587:

I've done it, but I don't think it's recommended.  As far as I know it isn't necessarily healthy to skip your period.  But then again, I'm not a doctor lol

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 10, 2012 at 7:49 AM
1 mom liked this
My doctor said there is no reasone to have a period unless you are trying to get "knocked up" lol but I don't know if skiping the pill will make you not have a period or not. I use to miss the last set all the time. I was told it was okay they were just there to help you keep in routine of taking them.
anyotherday