Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Who likes it and who hates it?

And why?

by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 3:14 AM
Replies (31-40):
armywife009
by Platinum Member on Oct. 5, 2012 at 4:00 AM

It's hard to differentiate it now. It sucks. A song, don't remember the name, came on the radio the other day with dubstep and it hurt my ears. It didn't even fit the melody of the song. 

And LOL "Dubstep hipster" :-P

Quoting squeedlyspooch:

I have to say that I dislike most dubstep with lyrics. I am relatively new to this whole thing and have no idea what's "proper" and what's "poser."

btw, for a second I actually thought the term "dubstep hipster" in relation to your comment, and it made me lol.

Quoting armywife009:

Dh and I liked it before it was cool *snicker*, seriously we did.

But now, it's used in the wrong way/songs and sounds awful.

MommaBear1130
by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 4:02 AM
My nephew loves it. I hate it! Sounds like somebody recorded dying animals and called it music. ;)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
squeedlyspooch
by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 4:06 AM

The issue from what i have read is that Dubstep refers more to what is DONE to a song rather than a specific set of effects. Usually you drop the base (which is totally the way to my heart), but I hear a lot of stuff that is called "Dubstep" that has basically no base. Some people are differentiating "dubstyle" and "Dubstep" to help with the confusion, but it seems like a lot of people are deconstructing songs into madness and calling it dubstep.

Quoting armywife009:

It's hard to differentiate it now. It sucks. A song, don't remember the name, came on the radio the other day with dubstep and it hurt my ears. It didn't even fit the melody of the song. 

And LOL "Dubstep hipster" :-P

Quoting squeedlyspooch: