Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Would you send a 6 week old to head start while you stayed at home and didn't work?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 60 Replies

More of a confession of what I saw.............

Before I had kids I worked as a head start teacher for migrant children.  I worked with infants and also toddlelrs some.

I cared for babies as young as six weeks of age while their moms (and dads too sometimes) stayed at home. Lots of them had moms who did not work.   They would send their kids on the bus at about 6:45 ish in the morning and then  pick them up off the bus at 4:00 to 5:00ish. 

No idea what they did during the day.  

100% of the care was free. THey also free diapers, formula and even free clothes sometimes.   ANd of course free food as well.  And the mom would just stay at home!

Even though it was free, they would still lyell and complain over things like if their kid had a few mosquito bites from the playground.

Would you send your baby to head start?

And for the record ------------------------------------ I felt they would definitely get better care at home.  Sometimes we had to let them cry and scream - had no choice really because I only had 2 arms.

The thing htat bothered me the most is that they caseworkers for head start woullld go out and try to recruit them and tell the parents it was better for the babies to be there!!!! I remember one who had a 4 year old in the program, had a newborn, and the caseworkers kept asking and asking to enroll the baby too. She didn't want to. And, yes, we got more funding with more kids.

Posted by Anonymous on Oct. 5, 2012 at 2:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Oct. 5, 2012 at 2:28 PM