Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Some attitudes really piss me off. *kinda long*

Posted by   + Show Post
Alright so I'm an EMT here in Washington and I genuinely love my job. I love my patients and I love helping people. I'm actually at work today and need to vent a little.

Here, the fire department responds to all medicals calls before they call in the private ambulance (me) to take them to the hospital. In fact you can't be a medic unless you are in the fire department in the county I work in. I'm an EMT basic. Sometimes fire acts like they are the gods of EMS and it drives me nuts.

Day before yesterday, we go to a local college and fire is like, "this kid has hives. Already been seen at the ER, just needs to fill his prescriptions. We want you to take him back to the ER cause when we got here his blood pressure was low. Its now 130\80 but he needs to,go anyways."

The kids (18) looks at me and says "I don't want to go but they are making me"

I took his vitals, perfectly normal, fire left, and I cut him loose. A friend took him to the pharmacy to get his RX filled. Oh, staff at the college called 911 when they saw his hives. Security comes out and says "do you really think you can veto fired decision to send him in? They are the medical professionals" Ummm yes dumbass I can. So WTF am I? Chopped liver that happens to wear a EMT badge and ride around in an ambulance? firefighters didn't join the department to run medical calls, they only do it cause of politics! I have more patient care than the whole engine crew combined!!

Fast forward to this am. My first patient is a 60 year old lady with a long complex medical history with chest pain and low blood pressure. Medics are there when I get there. Her pulse is at 150, blood pressure at 92/doppler with intermittent chest pain since Monday. I'm the one who took her in.