Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

A latex allergy can't be that unusual???

Posted by on Nov. 15, 2012 at 11:58 PM
  • 47 Replies

DS has an alergy to latex.  When he is touched by gloves or latex bandaids he gets a rash then eventual blister.  We went to see the dentist today and they didn't have latex free gloves....  The dentist just "washed his hands extra good".  Next time we go in I'll bring in a box for him...  I don't understand though, I thought latex was a common allergy, isnt it? 

You know you want it

by on Nov. 15, 2012 at 11:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Nov. 15, 2012 at 11:59 PM
I've always thought so, I work in healthcare and I always use latex free gloves just in case.
.thatsme.
by on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:00 AM
I'm not sure how common it is but my mom is allergic to latex.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Charliesmommy11
by on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:00 AM
It is pretty common I agree. I'm allergic as well , I actually have a bandaid shaped scar from a supposedly latex free bandaid lol.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
crescentstar2
by Anne on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:01 AM

Our ped dentist had the latex free only :-/

Opie99
by Member on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:01 AM
It is an increasingly common allergy.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
edelweiss23
by on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:02 AM
I am allergic as well

Every dr or dentist I have gone to recently has switched to a different type of gloves so as not to use latex.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
.betty.white.
by Platinum Member on Nov. 16, 2012 at 12:02 AM