Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Anyone have a ferret? *Update*

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I'd love to have a ferret, but I've heard they stink no matter how clean you keep the cage. Even if their scent glands are removed they still have an odor? We live in a smallish house, I don't want him stinking the house up. Is there any way at all to prevent the smell? Anything else I need to know before getting one? What kind of vaccinations do they need?

*Update*

So we've been doing lots of research, and know way more than we did. I would go as far as saying I'm an expert, lol! JK! I was getting pretty excited about getting one...We've looked at tons of beautiful cages and "baby proof" pins they can play in, all kinds of accessories....Then we found out we're having another baby.

We were ttc, but thought it was going to be a very long process (it was with dd), and would have plenty of time to get accustomed to having a ferret. Well now I'm starting to have second thoughts. I know I'll be the one doing all the cleaning on the cage/litter box. Is that safe for a pregnant woman? I know they're more closely related to dogs then cats, but you still have the littler box like with a cat. Dh has promised to do all the cleaning, but I know how that goes. 

We went this past week, and looked at a few! They were soooo sweet, and very gentle. Dh's heart was set, and dd also did very good with them. But because of me, we didn't get one....Idk, would this be a smart move? Would it be wiser to wait till our LO's get older? Dh was almost in tears when I made him put this little guy back. I felt so bad..And dd was really upset, but I just gave him the "lets just wait till after Christmas" story. After that he agreed, but thinks we're getting one come January. Why is this such a difficult decision for me?! 

Posted by Anonymous on Nov. 16, 2012 at 4:54 AM
Replies (141-146):
Jeckers