Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Should this be reported to CPS??????

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 168 Replies

Poll

Question: Should this be reported to CPS?

Options:

Yes

No

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 180

View Results

I am posting anonymously to protect the student's privacy.

I am a teacher at a school that teaches K-12 all in the same building (small school). I am on the secondary side, but we have weekly meetings with the primary side. One of the students on the primary side, who I'll call *John* for the purposes of this post, has a problem.

John is a twin (his sister goes to a different school). John's mother dresses him up like a girl while at home. She treats him as if he is a girl, as well. She will take her twin "daughters" with her out in public. When John comes to school, he is dressed like a boy, generally in clothes too big for him. He will continually tell his teacher to quit calling him "young man" because "I am a girl." It's heart-breaking.

I feel that this is a form of child abuse; however, I was told not to report it. I was told, as was the elementary teacher, that since John is not being "abused" that we cannot interfere.

The only information I can give you is this:
   1. I work in Virginia.
   2. John is 6 years old.
   3. He comes from a poverty stricken area/home.

Please let me know what you would do or any advice about what I should do, please.

Posted by Anonymous on Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:29 PM
2 moms liked this

Yes absolutely. Who knows what else is going on in that home. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous on Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:31 PM
1 mom liked this
Well maybe that's what he wants. I don't agree with it, but I don't think it's abuse.
Anonymous

YES!!! I would!!!