Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

S/O My Degree is better than Your Degree

Posted by on Dec. 6, 2012 at 12:09 AM
  • 33 Replies
2 moms liked this

So this chick teaches college says an Associates is not a Degree. Many making comments that an Associates is worthless. While I dig that one cannot get the same pay wage as one with a Bachelors or Masters so forth, depending on the school you get your degree really rates the value of your education.

Then you got my I refuse to speak Spanish post LOL (yes troll post I needed my fix from being gone awhile) where people lecturing that education and learning more is always better.

So, really, I have learned to realize that if the school is a quality school whether you start with an Associates, or a Trade School or brave enough to just go for your Bachelors, or finish off and acheive your Masters, I think most people failing to realize, that many with an Associates later will get their Bachelors, not all but some do.

I will say however, from my own experience working on my Programming Associates, I do not think Associates are sufficient for young people, and would recommend they consider doing a four year program (getting those general ed in) because they do have value to it.

I do think Associates are great for us older folks, people that havent had the opportunity to finish school or need to start school but still moms and children at home.

I think it is sad that so many look down on these certifications and associates because, really, we are only putting down people bettering themselves and continuing to learn.

~~~~~         =^..^=        ~~~~~
I'm not the cat lady type. I'm more like an actual cat. I want affection when I want it and on my own terms. The rest of the time I want to claw out your eyes and piss in your shoes.  

*marking the 599968yth post/reply being mean, evil, horrible, which makes me worse than anonymous*