Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How do you tell a toddler Santa is not real because Mommy is broke??

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 170 Replies
1 mom liked this

This year has been extremely difficult.  If it can happen, it pretty much has.  As much as it hurts me to admit I need help to give my kids Christmas, I really do.  I am not asking anyone on this site to help me, I am just sharing my story really.  I cant be the only one going through this and really just want to not feel so alone. 

Before you start bashing, yes my husband works, no we are not on welfare, our toddler cannot go to daycare due to a medical condition so I cannot work out of the home.  I try to work from our home but apparantly I am not good at finding out how to do it and get paid as I have worked for about 9 weeks for a company and no money has come my way yet... but that is an entirely different topic. Prior to this medical condition we had no worries financially. Now, we have no home phone, no cell phones, no car insurance, no up to date tags on the car and I have final notices for electric and water.  Things have gotten bad.  My husband makes decent money, but medical expenses have caused a mountain of issues.  

So, I reached out about a month ago and a Christmas Angel answered my need.  However, my "Christmas angel" has come on hard times and told us yesterday that they cannot help us now.  Humbled by their desire to help, saddened I might not have Christmas for my kids... Not sure really what to do. 

I have been knitting a blanket to give to my toddler, and she will appreciate it but I am affraid she is going to think that she was a "bad girl" and that is why Santa did not come.  My Husband thinks we should just tell the kids that Santa is not real and tell them whats going on... I cant bring myself to do that.    My oldest will be sad but will understand, I think, but not my youngest. 

I am torn.