Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Have you ever been to a school holiday concert that was B A D?

Posted by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 2:47 PM
  • 8 Replies

I am more than a little worried.    i just saw the most unorganized chaotic frenzy that was supposed to be a dress rehearsal for our holiday concert.   I am a title one teacher/ tutor -  so in no way am i responsible for the concert.   The music teacher is new to our school,  she has taught many years,  but in a cost cutting measure,  the school decided to share a music teacher with our neighboring school.   She is at our school Tuesday and Thursday and their school MWF.     So the teacher isnt here everyday but teaches for an hour once a week to each class.   It was the same class length/frequency last year (but we had a different teacher.)    I am just so worried about how this will refect on our school.    I want to ask you mommas -   how heavy would you weigh that -  if the new music teacher's show was a train wreck?    How much would that make you doubt the school.    The children are behaving but are confused because the music teacher changed the songs and dances several times and has not organized anything for transitioning the kids onto and off of the stage so that part looked terrible too.   (NOt to mention the fact the kids see the disorganization and get worried and think its funny and get thrown off.)  oh my goodness.  (and the principal is out - he tore his achilles tendon and will be out for the whole week.   I hear he is loopy on pain meds and totally useless this week.)   

school background info - we are a charter in an urban area - we beat the public schools test scores out of the water and have no playground - so the people who send their children to our school - are very focused on academic growth.      

by on Dec. 18, 2012 at 2:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):