Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Another repercussion of not vaxing

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies

I wasn't vaxed. My dad simply didn't have it done. 

I work in a hospital. And have, for quite awhile. 

For whatever reason, they audited our employee files. Mine came back, saying that I hadn't been vaxed and, therefore, could no longer work with the newborns until I was. 

I went and did it. All of the, (by the way, hep b is a series over several months). Not only did it hurt, but I got sick a couple of times. The nurse who did my vax each time said that it was always a possibility because I am an adult. Kids naturally have strong little immune systems that fight it off. 

So, I almost lost my job and had to receive multiple vaxes, which led to me being sick multiple times... All BC my dad didn't want to vax me as a child. 

And no, I couldn't sign a waiver. There is no medical reason for me denying the vaxes. It was either do it, or find a new job. 

ETA: I didn't know that I wasn't vaxed when I took the job. They didn't ask me either. When I asked them about that, they said that it is so uncommon for someone my age not to be vaxed that they didn't even think about it. When I began searching for my shot records is when/how I found out that I wasn't vaxed as a child. 

ETA again:

I work IN a hospital, not FOR a hospital. I am part of an outside contract company who goes into our local hospital networks. Hospitals are made up of more than nurses and doctors, ya know lol. MY employer didn't notice my missing shot record until a few months ago. 

I took multiple lab courses in college. Turns out, you're supposed to have MMR and TB for a couple of those! Some how, I got missed. I went back and looked. I even paid my university $10 for those records that essentially say "no records on file."