Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Do you teach your kids basic anatomy?

Posted by on Jan. 5, 2013 at 9:15 AM
  • 116 Replies

Dh is a medical man, and he's been studying medicine since he was 6. So when our dd started asking about her body, lets say, "where does food go when you eat it?" he expains in full detail the process of digestion, but says most of it in lamens terms. I've started doing this as well since I started studying to be a medical transcriptionist. It involves learning about the body as a whole, medications and such and having her ask me questions about the body, really helps me.

So my dd came up to me yesterday, and was asking about what bones where what. We have a skeleton hanging on a book shelf filled with anatomy books so she was using that as a reference. It really helps her understand and she knows a lot of digestion now also (she's 4)

Does anyone else do this? Kids are always asking questions "whats this?" "whats that" and most asked "why?" I'm trying my best to answer all of her questions but sometimes i have to say "um....go ask daddy" haha

I'm a pagan 23 year old mother of three who are 4, 2/12, and 1yr. 6 1/2 years strong with my Pagan/Duid highschool sweetheart and have been married for 2 years. All I want in life is for my family to be healthy happy and positive. Negativity is an infection and an unhealthy mind can become sick with negativity if infected. Blessed Be )O(
pagan 2

by on Jan. 5, 2013 at 9:15 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
brettsmomma
by ~Tammie~ on Jan. 5, 2013 at 9:17 AM

LOL I have had to explain it in detail. We used google images for kids. It lead me to an awesome site that had detailed pictures. I think my kid will be a dr someday. he is very interested in anything to do with how the body works.

Photo: -Randi.

BewitchedKisses