Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

He is NOT a bad child!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 69 Replies

I haven't had my first child yet (due in March!) but I have been keeping my nephew on & off for a few years.  I love him so much.  He's the sweetest, kindest, funniest child I've ever known.  He started having problems at school and after much evaluation, he was put on meds for ADHD.  But that hasn't solved all the problems.  All I hear constantly is how bad he is, how irresponsible, how lazy, and so on.  He doesn't have a mean bone in his body and he's not defiant in any way.  They just complain constantly about how he is lazy lazy lazy and basically incompetent in every way.

I always tell them what a great, wonderful, almost-perfect child he is with me!  They say, it's because you have no authority over him, he doesn't have any responsibilities, he doesn't have to do chores or homework or be responsible.

I don't think that's true at all, but I decided to test it out.  Lately I've been giving him things to do, just basic minor things, to see how he does.  I've increased the level of responsibility gradually.  He's not over here every day but he's here enough. 

Well he does GREAT! 

I feel like we are talking about two different kids here.  How could he be so great with me and so horrible at home?

Is it true that children act differently when they are with different people? They feel he's on his best behavior with me, because I'm his aunt and he doesn't want to let me down.  Whereas, when he's with his parents, he's very lax.

Is this true? 

Thanks! 

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 8, 2013 at 7:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MamaPeanut
by Gold Member on Jan. 8, 2013 at 7:26 PM
Poor kid
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Jan. 8, 2013 at 7:27 PM