Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Meat for 23 meals for $84.27

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 27 Replies
2 moms liked this

Works out on average to $3.66 per meal for the meat in a meal for a family of 5

Here's the breakdown. 

2-beef roast-2.5 lbs each

4-1.25lbs of 90/10 ground beef

6-2lb bags of boneless skinless chicken breast

5-2lb bags of boneless skinless chicken tenderloins

2-2 pound pork roast

3-bags of 6 each pork chops

This is my first time doing this and I think that with left overs I can get almost the whole month out of these meats and I still have over $300 left in my budget for everything else.  Pretty happy with myself right now!  Before, we were spending about $600-$800 a month on food.

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 13, 2013 at 5:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
myperfect4inok
by Gold Member on Jan. 13, 2013 at 5:47 PM
That's what I do. I just bought meat for $80 and I have enough for 3 weeks and there are 6 of us.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Jan. 13, 2013 at 5:48 PM

Our spending was getting really out of hand so I am pretty happy with this!  Any tips you can throw at me?

Quoting myperfect4inok:

That's what I do. I just bought meat for $80 and I have enough for 3 weeks and there are 6 of us.

myperfect4inok
by Gold Member on Jan. 13, 2013 at 5:56 PM
Buy in bulk when you can
If you see something on sale pick it up. For example, if they have chicken breasts on sale stock up.
Same goes for you canned stuff. They had canned veggies on sale this week I stocked up. The other week they had frozen veggies on sale for half of what they normally are. I stocked up. I only buy things on sale

Quoting Anonymous:

Our spending was getting really out of hand so I am pretty happy with this!  Any tips you can throw at me?

Quoting myperfect4inok: