Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How hard is it to check the weather before sending your kids to school?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 135 Replies
1 mom liked this

I am a kindergarten teacher (today is a planning day) and this bugs me. For the last week, it has been warm, getting up to the 80s in the afternoon, yet the kids were coming to school in heavy winter clothes. Then yesterday, it was cool and there were kids in shorts and t-shirts. Really, how hard is it to turn on the weather channel, check the weather on your phone or hey step outside to make sure your child is in weather appropriate clothing? I really feel bad for some of these kids

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:50 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
1plustwinsmommy
by Platinum Member on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:53 AM
1 mom liked this
As a teacher, I have wondered the same thing. However, I can also remember a few times when a cold front moves in mid day and my dd wasn't prepared because I forgot. It happens.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:54 AM
Guess what? It's 20 degrees out today, and I ust sent my son off in a t-shirt. Why you ask? Because that is what he's most comfortable in. Also, inside the school is very warm. He begs me everyday to let him wear a short sleeved shirt. I'm glad my sons kindergarten teacher understands completely.
Dzyre1115
by Desiree` on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:56 AM
4 moms liked this

My kids like shorts as long as the temps are above freezing, I'm lucky to get them in a coat in the morning.  Worry about teaching and leave the parenting to the parents!

redneckmama2
by Silver Member on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:57 AM

I have a gadget on my laptop desktop that tells me the weather :) I always check it while the kids are having breakfast so they are prepared. 

iamcafemom83