Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Need advice for an emotionally neglected 9yr. old girl!! *anything u have to offer could help*

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 11:00 PM
  • 9 Replies

Short back story: Growing up my sister was EXTREMELY mentally unstable, all of my parents focus was on her, I was just expected to do and be better. From middle school on (even though I was a straight A student) I consistently beat myself up and never thought I was good enough!! By 11th grade I was taking college courses and my grades slipped slightly to a 3.86GPA..... I went off the deep end, got kicked out of the magnet school I was in, because my parents called the cops on me for smoking weed ( In the magnet schools you are not allowed any legal problems or they drop you) I lost my full ride scholarship, COMPLETELY lost my mind and the years that followed were full of alcohol, hard drugs and bad men. It wasn't until just a few years ago that I managed to straighten my life out.

The current problem: My 9 yr. old niece is displaying the exact same self loathing, self abuse symptoms that I did at that age. My 12yr. old nephew has Down syndrome so all of my sisters focus is on him, there seem to be a lot of similarities here to me. She is also a VERY bright student, but looses it completely when she can't understand something, cries, pulls out her hair ( the exact same thing I did ) She is my wonderful loving little niece, and I never want to see her go through the hell I went through..... I never knew anything different so I don't know what advice to offer = (

If any of you moms have any advice at all, please feel free to share it with me!!! I Moved to the opposite side of the US to straighten my own life out so I can't be there to help in person, My sister is desperate for some advice!!!  

by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 11:00 PM
Add your quick reply below: