Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Feeding 4 on $400 a month?

Posted by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:04 PM
  • 69 Replies
I have a budget of $400 a month for groceries to feed myself, my 15 & 14 year old boys (who are 6'2" and active in sports) and my 8 year old daughter. We dont eat out, and im a great cook but meals have an hour or less to be prepared. How would you feed your family filling, healthy meals and snacks on $400 a month?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:05 PM
Potatoes
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:05 PM
I'd go to the store and buy food. That's more than enough money for four people.
Rust.n.Gears
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:06 PM
1 mom liked this
You can save a ton growing your own veggies and herbs.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
SalemWitchChild
by Blessed be on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:09 PM
1 mom liked this

Very very carefully. Buy the staples. No munchies. You can make your own cakes and cookies from scratch cheaper.

The biggest portion of your budget will go toward meats. Does your Dh hunt? If he does that would help out a lot. Or perhaps if your friends hunt ask them if you can make an arrangement for meat.

Growing your own veggies and herbs. Even if you have limited space you can grow some things in pots.

mcwife86
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:10 PM

i could do it. we spend more than that a month for three but if i had to i could get by on 200.00 every two weeks. id buy a coupe of whole chickens, some bags of tilapia, rice, pasta, sauces, and a ton of different spices and vegetables ( fresh for the first week froze for the second).

talia-mom
by Gold Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:11 PM
4 moms liked this
crock pot is your friend