Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Women on the front lines?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
How do you feel about women being on the front lines in our military? I'm not 100% against it. I do think that there are some jobs they could open up to women in addition to the ones they already offer. The infantry positions I don't really agree with though. What are your thoughts?

I'm only asking because I saw on the news this morning that they're changing the laws to allow women into most of the "female restricted" career choices & I was a little surprised! Lol.

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 24, 2013 at 8:52 AM
Replies (241-250):
brandydesiree
by Platinum Member on Jan. 25, 2013 at 12:20 PM

Okay....when I first heard this, I was all for it and very excited actually. I am an OIF-II vet, and I while I was in Iraq, I found that women were already in some support positions that should've constituted as combat. However, now the more I think about it, the more I am against the idea. I'm sorry ladies, but the truth is we are NOT strong enough. Yea, yea, I know women can fire a weapon just as efficiently, but can she carry that almost 9lb weapon, with a full flack jacket, including sappy plates, kevalar helmet and possibly a 60-100lb pack on her back...and still keep up with her male counterparts? In reality....not many of us could. It puts females in danger...and when you have females in danger, you have the male instinct to protect her.

I think it is a noble idea, equality and stuff...but sometimes are better left un-equal.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 41 on Jan. 25, 2013 at 12:30 PM
If they're capable of everything the task entails, then great. I couldn't do it. There's no way I could lift some big heavy guy or something like that... But I've no doubt some women can do it.

Ps- I'm watching Mulan right now. She's kickin' ass and takin' names!
jenna30