Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

interview help... when the man interviewing doent like women...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 30 Replies
Finally interviewing for a full time job in the field I have a degree. Well said field is male dominated. For interviews I usually wear skirts and make up, just dress up. Being a male dominated field I wasn't sure if that was appropriate, being all girly looking, so I was already stumped. Well a male friend who worked at this place at one point told me that the person who will be interviewing me has a huge issue with females in this field. I've already talked to the owner but this could still be a problem. I know lots feel that way, and he can feel how he wants, as long as he doesn't blatantly discriminate against me for it. I already knew I could come across this problem so im still willing to give the place a try and its the only place hiring. I've already decided if his feelings are obvious, he will be told and I will walk out. Now im just wondering how I should present myself. Advice?
Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
brittany208
by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:08 PM

Wear a pantsuit, be super confident, have a good strong handshake.

Jessica_Esqueda
by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:09 PM
4 moms liked this

Pantsuit, hair in a bun, minimal makeup, flats instead of heels, strong handshake, good eye contact!

mommamaggi
by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:10 PM

Pants suit, flats, modest make up and no cleavage. 

FL2AK
by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:14 PM

Perfect advice!

Quoting Jessica_Esqueda:

Pantsuit, hair in a bun, minimal makeup, flats instead of heels, strong handshake, good eye contact!

Diamepphyre
by Ruby Member on Jan. 27, 2013 at 9:45 PM

I agree!

Quoting FL2AK:

Perfect advice!

Quoting Jessica_Esqueda:

TheMrs407