Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions
Give antibiotics without a prescription?

I have an ear infection but its chronic so I hate going to the dr every time I get one.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:02 AM
Replies (41-50):
NewMamaBoo
by Platinum Member on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:29 AM

Uh no

Wifeyy2Lette
by on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:30 AM
I just meant pharmacies in general. Yes, I know they're not affiliated at all.

Quoting Anonymous:

I'm a pharmacy tech at Walgreens. No. All abx require a prescription.

Just curious. Why did you lump Walgreens and Wal-Mart together. You know that they are no way affiliated, right?
-_-
by Ruby Member on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:32 AM
Pee in a cup. Put a few drops in your ear. Put a cotton ball in your ear. Go to bed smelly. Wake up feeling better.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
bmw29
by spitfire_bobbie on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:32 AM

Olive oil is very soothing to the ear canal and they actually sell it bottled as Sweet Oil just for this purpose.

Quoting ladysamanda:

EEck. I'm sorry. My son has one too, lol. Sadly, NO, they can not. Walmart has some EARACHE DROPS, which are right by the eye drops. It is a LITTLE BITTY bottle for $13.50, but it does work. HYLAND'S makes it. I've also heard olive oil will work, but IDK how, lol.

Wifeyy2Lette
by on Feb. 2, 2013 at 12:32 AM
Yea I have hardly any pain because I've dealt with it my whole life, I can hardly hear out of my left ear.
My ear infections led to polyps, though.

Quoting lovinglife0682:

I would not mess around with anything else. I have significant ear loss from ear infections that were not treated until I had blood on my pillow. I do not have pain with ear infections.

Quoting Wifeyy2Lette:

No but I'm scared to use stuff... I've had 5 ear surgeries and it scares me to use anything I'm not familiar with.

Quoting CamMa: