Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Im not the only one? Tax refund

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I am a student so my refund has been delayed.. I think.. I filed on the 17th and it still hasnt been approved even though my state has. I dont remember if one of the forms I used was one of the forms being delayed.. I know.. Im not bright.. but everyone says they recieved an email from turbotax or whoever they used to file stating this, but I havent.. Its like a 50 minute hold time to talk to any rep, so I was just curious if any of you are in the same situation and DID NOT recieve the email. 

Okay since maybe I was not clear... This is my question

STUDENTS that file the STUDENT DEDUCTION/CREDIT whatever..... DID YOU RECIEVE AN EMAIL FROM WHOEVER PREPARED YOUR TAXES STATING THAT YOUR REFUND WOULD BE DELAYED?!?!!?

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 2, 2013 at 1:30 PM
Replies (11-19):
Kaelaasmom
by Katie on Feb. 2, 2013 at 1:41 PM

Quoting Anonymous:

I got the email... 

Your Tax Return Status: Returns Sent Important Information About Your Tax Return
A quick update on your federal tax return
Although you submitted your return earlier this month, you may have heard that the IRS is not ready to accept tax returns that have certain deductions or credits in them - like yours. 

Your return is currently being held because it contains these deductions and/or credits: Education Credits.

If your federal return is being held, your state return may also be delayed.  Some state tax authorities require that the federal return is accepted before they can start processing.

This is a nationwide delay for all returns like yours - no matter who prepares them. Don't worry, you won't lose your place in line. We've got your return ready to go as soon as the IRS is ready to process it. 

Next step: keep watching your email.