Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

MY SITTER BAILED!!! **edit**

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 138 Replies

Ugh! Not the end of the world, but annoying none the less.

I just started my job in Nov. Before my first day I went through the school calendar with my sitter who happens to be a good friend. Shr confirmed she would be available and also able to watch them over the summer.

Well, spring break is 6 weeks away and she just sent me a text that she cannot watch them that week (7days total) ... that she had decided to take that week off to spend with her kids only.

Fine... whatever, but now she is pissed that I have now decided (because of spring break) to enroll my kids in a FT summer program because back up care is going to be harder for me to find over the summer... I cant have het taking off with such little notice.

WWYD?

I would just like to say...

1) I am new to my job so I have no vacation earned as of yet. I will not have vacation for a year.

2) I work for an advertising publication and Spring Break happens to be our deadline week. So no, I am not just able to ask for this week off. My expecations were made clear to me by my employer before I took the job, much like the expectations I have for my provider were made clear before she started HER job watching my children.

3) Screw the notice. She committed to watching my children that week. This "late" notice has prevented me from taking advantage of other programs that WERE available, but have since filled up for that week.

4) SAHM's need not answer if you are going to ASSume I have ample time to find someone to watch my kids. IF it was that easy I wouldn't not be so frustrated or stressed. period.

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 5, 2013 at 1:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Feb. 5, 2013 at 1:59 PM