Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Do you take your kid to the dr at the first sign of a fever?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
I'm not talking about infants but toddlers and older. If their only symptom was a fever (101-102.5) would you take them in or wait it out and treat them with motrin and tylenol? If you did wait it out, how many days would you wait before taking them in?
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:20 AM
Replies (11-20):
ratchetlee
by on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:28 AM

NO!  I am a nurse.... and there is not a whole lot that can be done....

If they are complaining of an ear ache, having trouble breathing, or showing signs of dehydration, then I would

I just treat the cold symptoms, flu symptoms, or whatever... and the fever!

ErikaRobin
by Platinum Member on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:29 AM
1 mom liked this

Low grade fevers we let them bake it out.

Higher fevers get ibuprofen and lots of water.

We've never had a fever make us go to the doctor. 

sugareemommee
by Platinum Member on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:29 AM

no not immediately.  if it doesn't go down within 3-4 days and the motrin/tylenol isn't bringing it down I'll take them in, especially if there are other symptoms. 

my youngest has had febrile seizures so I keep a really good eye on him if he's running a fever. 

wilesmomma
by Gold Member on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:29 AM
No. If it's still there the fourth day, then yes.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
momof2boy2girl
by Valerie on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:30 AM

I never take them in unless the fever is over 103 and nothing brings it down. Even then, I call the doctor and ask if I should bring them in. I don't feel that every sickness needs to be ruashed in, most viral infections require only some TLC to get over and all the doctor will say is "rest and fluids."

queen_k0302
by on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:30 AM
No. 104 fever isn't as serious as people originally thought