Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

adoption..no bashing

Posted by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:08 AM
  • 19 Replies
I'm infertile. I've done meds and failed. I'm not sure if I want to do iui. I will never do ivf, I think its wonderful but not for me. I'd rather personally put the money into adoption because it can be 10-30k a chance but that's just me. Totally support ivf for others.

How can I get started with the process? Dh has adoption help at work but neither of us have insurance that covers infertility. I know I'm going to get bashed for this, but I want baby under 2. I'm afraid I'd be overwhelmed by an older child. I really want to experience babyhood and maybe that makes me selfish but I think I have as much right as a fertile woman. I feel if the baby had special needs, I could help it better at a younger age.

I have a degree in elementary ed, early childhood ed and special ed. Would that help me get chosen? I'm a sped teacher and hubby works in a factory so we aren't rich so I'm worried that will hurt our chances. I don't mind about the race, though I worry about how others will react. Gender doesn't matter. I want a semi open adoption. I am ok with sending letters and photos to birth mom and so the kid can get medical info if needed but I'd prefer a birth mom not being able to visit my child whenever they wanted.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:08 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
matofour
by Gold Member on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:10 AM
Find an agency. Start there.

Or if you are willing, foster to adopt. Either process can be very hard. There are benefits to both.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
storkneedsgps
by RoseTyler on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:11 AM
ADD: Are there any adoptive moms or groups here that can help me?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
baquick
by Ruby Member on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:14 AM