Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

mess o' greens

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 8 Replies
I'm supposed to make a big dinner today. All my inlaws are coming. Dh was bragging about what a good cook I am, but I'm a baker. Cookies, breads, pies and such.

Anyway they're coming over after church, so around 3pm. And I can't figure out how to make the greens. I've been Googling and can't find the recipe. Mil usually puts a pigs foot or ham hawk in. I don't even know what a ham hawk is. And dh said something about shaving the pigs foot. Wth does that mean?

Helllp!
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:11 AM
I'd make something I've at least tried making before. Good luck though.
robyann
by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:11 AM

A ham hock is just a ham bone. They are usually next to the cottage hams. They just add flavor. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous - Original Poster on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:14 AM
Is it absolutely necessary? Do you know where I can find a recipe?

Quoting robyann:

A ham hock is just a ham bone. They are usually next to the cottage hams. They just add flavor. 

bigmessylife
by Bronze Member on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:15 AM
I think I'm going to barf. I cook my green with a full head of garlic, pressed, and veggie broth.
davnrori
by Platinum Member on Feb. 10, 2013 at 11:15 AM
1 mom liked this