Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Under Qualified...Would You Take The Job?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 88 Replies
1 mom liked this

Would you take a job your under qualified for. My mom turned a job down because she is under qualified and in the medical field. I think she is right to turn it down if she knows she's under qualified and even after considering the learning curve she still is not comfortable with it. It would be a clinical over sight position. I have been in  this situation and I feel there is no place for the "fake it till you make it" and see what happens mentality in clinical care.  My sister on the other hand thinks she is being stupid, because she needs the work and the pay will be great. I see both sides of the situation, but I lean more towards my moms' side since I also work in health care and understand the importance of being confident in your job related abilities when dealing with patients or overseeing those who do. I've turned down 2 positions for this reason but I have taken a couple non health care related jobs that I was under qualified for and being in that situation is so hard on the nerves every day until you do "make it" that I don't think it's worth it. If it where my dream job, or a long shot at a life long dream then I would totally see it as worth it of course but that's not the case here for my mom. Would you take a job your under qualified for?

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 12, 2013 at 6:39 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
itsm3
by Platinum Member on Feb. 12, 2013 at 7:33 AM