Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

babies don't "just cry"!!!

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

sorry, just a small rant.

I know I'm new to the "mom" thing and that my DS is only 7 weeks so, no, I do not know everything nor do I claim to...

But I do know that babies don't "just cry" without a reason. I just want to shake the girl (yes, girl) that said this to me at the doctors office. (I know I have no right to judge, but here I go)

Her baby was sucking her fist and showing clear signs of being hungry then started screaming her little head off. The mom wouldn't get off her phone long enough to even glance down at the poor baby. She looked at my son who was contently sitting in my lap and said, "I can't believe how calm he is, all this one does is just cry"

I so wanted to go off on this girl and say, "Babies don't just cry and your daughter is clearly hungry!!"

So, to the dumb women who think that your baby is just crying for no reason, either A) you're not getting what the baby is trying to tell you, B) your baby needs to see a doctor because something is going on and you're not getting it, C) You're just not very good at understanding your child.

*steps off soapbox*

ETA: I like how so many of you are pulling out the "colic" card--hmmm colic sounds like a reason to me since  they cry BECAUSE of colic

So, once again I say, babies don't cry just for the fun of it. It's their communication tool and if you can't tell that, I'm sorry for your children.

Also, while my DS is my first child, I raised my nephew (he was 2 when DH and I took them in) and my niece (she was a month).

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 13, 2013 at 1:47 PM
Replies (61-70):
MamaRae85
by *you're on Feb. 13, 2013 at 2:40 PM

*giggles from behind the bushes*

Quoting MomOf2DueInJune:

"Kicks Soap box out from underneath you and then backs out of post"

Moe1521
by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 2:40 PM