Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Nursing on an airplane

Posted by on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:31 AM
  • 11 Replies
1 mom liked this
My son will be 18 months and nurses quite frequently still. We're flying from Hartford to Orlando next month, and I'm a bit nervous to nurse him in the air. There are so many stories of moms having issues with Delta Airlines flight attendants. :/

I kind of want to shell out the extra money to upgrade to first class in hopes of their being less people in that area. I'm not out to annoy people or shove it in their face, but I don't doubt for a second that he's going to want to nurse, and I won't deny him.

Anyone nurse a child his age on a flight? Did anyone bother you?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:31 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bcoll
by Brandi on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:35 AM

That's not a lng flight. Probably just under three hours? If you feed him before hand he should make it ok with a few snacks on board right?

UxorQuodMatris.
by Ruby Member on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:36 AM
Not if he's stressed out. He comfort nurses a lot.

Quoting bcoll:

That's not a lng flight. Probably just under three hours? If you feed him before hand he should make it ok with a few snacks on board right?

ColtsFan1912
by FriendoftheFoot on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:38 AM

We flew from Califorina to Indiana when my son was that age. He slept the whole way so I never ended up nursing him. I would of had he neeeded to nurse.

AleaKat
by on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM
Try a seat in the back
Use a cover.
I stopped at 10 months but I'd think save my money and tell people to get over it.
We flew delta- I breastfed and never had an issue.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
bcoll
by Brandi on Feb. 21, 2013 at 10:40 AM
1 mom liked this