Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I am a nurse and I work in an abortion clinic

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I'm a nurse and I work in an abortion clinic.  What are your thoughts?

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 22, 2013 at 11:57 PM
Replies (101-110):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Feb. 23, 2013 at 12:47 AM

Quoting Anonymous:

Not to mention emotional damage and possibly not being able to carry a child ever again.

Quoting Anonymous:

Quoting Anonymous:

What would you say are the risks of a surgical abortion at 10-12 weeks? Is the procedure painful? What if you are sedated but not put to sleep?

Quoting Anonymous:

Quoting Anonymous:

Is abortion really as safe as Planned Parenthood touts it as? Not bashing, I'm very curious.

It really is very safe.  It's a surgical procedure like any other but it's safe.  The medical termination is of course safer.

Well, considering I had the same procedure at 10 weeks I will say it was pretty painful when I woke up from anesthesia.  This is the same procedure used for women who had a miscarriage.  I'm glad I can tell the surgical patients that I have had the same procedure done.  I personally had back pain for a week afterwards and took some Vicodin I had left over from a previous surgery.  We have women who stay awake the whole time.  Some take it like a champ.  Some scream.  Most are put into a twilight sleep.

The risks and complications are very rare but include: complications of anesthesia, perforation/laceration of cervix/uterus, hemrrhage, infection, incomplete/missed abortion, cramping.

That is extremely rare and would only happen if they needed an emergency hysterectomy.  This is the same procedure done to women who have a missed miscarriage like myself.  So don't tell me I will never have children again. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Feb. 23, 2013 at 12:49 AM
1 mom liked this