Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Moms who have used a midwife or a birthing center - I have a lot of questions

Posted by on Feb. 27, 2013 at 12:16 PM
  • 16 Replies

I'm due 7/7/13. My first daughter was born 7/27/08, and after having her I learned exactly what I DIDN'T want to happen again. So now I'm looking into alternative options, but I really don't know much of anything about them. My questions are in bold if you care to skip to them.

I don't believe in unnecessary invasive procedure, which includes testing for the sake of testing. My OBGYN tried to force me into genetic testing and the multiple marker screen, even though my SO and I are at no ethnic or genetic risk and have no recessive defects in our families (and don't believe in abortion anyways). I've taken medical classes (I'm an x-ray tech) and know all the markers for diabetes, too (which only effects 4-8% of pregnant women, being more common in obese women, Native Americans, Latin Americans, and African Americans - none of which I am), so I feel this testing is also a way to sucker money from my insurance. And, while sugar in the urine isn't terribly uncommon for pregnant women, the doctor refused to even check my urine before demanding a blood sample (sugar will appear in your urine if you have uncontrolled diabetes). All in all, the OBGYN was demanding "at least 5 vials of blood." Not happening. We decided it would be best to part ways. Even if I didn't feel strongly about this, I have an intensive fear of things deliberately puncturing my skin and just the mention of of a needle approaching my body is enough to make my normally-low blood pressure take a dramatic spike. I also hyperventilate very badly - sometimes for up to 15min - and I can become hysterical. I feel like that trauma would be worse to the baby than some theoretical "routine testing". So question number one about midwives - wou