Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How do you become a room mom for your kids school?

Posted by on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:23 PM
  • 15 Replies
I saw the post about PTA.. I signed up for the PTA paid my dues and all and never received any info or any emails for meetings or anything. I'm not sure why..

Anyway, other than that I wanted to know about room moms.. What exactly does a room mom do, and how do you become one? This is my first year as my oldest is in kindergarten.. So I'm new to all of this. I'm not sure what to do. The other moms don't really talk to me when I pick up my daughter.. There aren't a lot that pick up their kids. I have a younger daughter that is 2.. So not sure if that would keep me from bein able to be a room mom or whatever.

I didnt know who to ask, and I know a lot of moms are in this group.
by on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:24 PM

Be a brown-noser.  That's how it works at our school.

1busymommy
by Bronze Member on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:27 PM
Quoting Anonymous:

Is it a bad thing to be a room mom? Why would u say that? I just want to be involved in my child's school.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:27 PM
And know all the latest gossip. That's how it works here to. Don't have time for that.

Quoting Anonymous:

mcginnisc
by *Claire-Bear* on Mar. 7, 2013 at 8:27 PM

It depends on your school. 

My kids are in private school, so I don't do much even though I'm room mom. They have a party every other month in order to celebrate the birthdays in the class. I organize the party and that is the extent of my duties. They don't have parents come in to help with crafts or anything since it is a private school and the classes are so small.