Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Yikes! I hope I didn’t ruin my chances.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies

I have a job interview today. I need this job. I was working as a caretaker for my grandmother, but she unexpectedly passed away two weeks ago. The day before she passed away, our offer was accepted on our first house. While we have good credit and no debt, I have to be working for us to get the loan. I'm also a full time college student, so I have to find an employer that will work with my schedule. While this job is just a minimum wage gig that will tide us over until Fall (I can start substituting then), I think I'd enjoy working here. It's a movie rental place.

All morning I've been preparing. I put on a killer outfit, did my hair and makeup (which I rarely do), and updated my resume. I got to my 10:30 interview five minutes early, and patiently waited on the manager. When the manager came out, another guy walked in for his 10:30 interview. The manager looked at her interview timeslots and informed me that my interview is at 11:30. I came at the wrong time. 

Ugh. Now I'm at home (I live four blocks away) waiting for my 11:30 interview.

So tell me guys - Have you ever made a mistake during an interview? Did you get the job? Any tips or tricks for interviews? How do you answer hard questions (what's your weakness, etc.)? What follow up questions do you usually ask?

Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 9, 2013 at 11:48 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
crashblossom
by on Mar. 9, 2013 at 11:50 AM

Yikes! That's a full schedule. How old are your children? 

Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
LovelyMommy24
by on Mar. 9, 2013 at 11:52 AM
1 mom liked this
As long as you didn't show up late you're fine. Just be yourself. Good luck!
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 9, 2013 at 11:54 AM