Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Dog showing????

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 43 Replies

I know this is not the right group to post this, but I wanted to go anon.

I have always wanted to get into the dog showing world, but the more research I do the more I dislike it. I have been reading about how most of the show breeders are just breeding "Pretty" animals, dogs that cannot do the jobs they were bred to do. I do not know if this is right or not, but I want opinions on this. I mean what good is it to breed for a dog to look pretty in the ring, if it can't go out in the field and herd, retrieve, etc??

Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 9, 2013 at 6:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sadiebug1228
by on Mar. 9, 2013 at 6:52 PM
I worked as a handler for a little while for a lady I knew that showed dobermans and Dalmatians. All of her dogs enjoyed playing outside and playing fetch. They also all very much enjoy going to competitions their faces light up every time they step in that ring
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 9, 2013 at 6:55 PM

I bet they are happy dogs, what I am asking is if most reputable breeders are breeding to "Improve" the breed, how is that improving it?

Quoting sadiebug1228:

I worked as a handler for a little while for a lady I knew that showed dobermans and Dalmatians. All of her dogs enjoyed playing outside and playing fetch. They also all very much enjoy going to competitions their faces light up every time they step in that ring

sadiebug1228
by on Mar. 9, 2013 at 6:56 PM
I guess it shows the beauty of the breed. And it shows what the perfect dog looks like in their breed. That's a hard question to answer lol I was 13 when I handled the dogs I loved it lol

Quoting Anonymous: