Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Personal Finance Questions--how do you do it??

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 67 Replies
This is totally a personal question, so just don't answer if you have nothing to contribute.

I'm legitmally looking for possible solutions and perhaps your own personal scenearios and experiences can help our family.

I'd love to have a third baby, but for us, it's all about the money, money, money!

I'm a teacher and my husband is finishing school and together we'll make, not a ton, but likely over $100K and even more when he finishes school in December.
We live very modestly, garage sale/consignment shop for our clothes, even the house we're buying, I'm pretty much able to afford on my salary alone.
In order for us to live responsibly though, there's no way we can have another child--not yet anyway.

Am I doing something wrong?? Are we just at the lower end of the income scale compared to the families who are able to afford more than one or two kiddos?
Our cars are paid off and we're debt-free (minus my $137 student loan payment monthly).

After saving for retirement, putting away for our two girls monthly, and just regular bills--which are pretty minimal considering we live in the suburbs of Atlanta-- there's not enough left for baby #3.
What are we doing wrong?? :(
Suggestions? Advice? What are you doing that my hard working hubby and I aren't??
I want another baby!!!!
Are we just too poor? Maybe that's the case. In December when my hubby will be making $80K+ (roughly) and I make $50K, maybe we just fall in the "we're too poor to live responsibly and have 3 kiddos" category.
How do you all do it?? Especially if you make about what we do or less? I mean, even our day care only charges $400 a month! And we only have one enrolled!
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 18, 2013 at 12:32 AM
Add your quick reply below: