Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

What is your favorite shampoo and /or conditioner??

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I have been using tresemme for a couple months and I need something new.  What's your favorite??

Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 18, 2013 at 11:47 PM
Replies (111-116):
ncbirdie
by Platinum Member on Mar. 20, 2013 at 10:47 PM

Just be warned, there can be a bit of an adjustment period.  Shampoo strips the oils from your hair, so you're scalp is in hyper mode trying to replenish the oils.  When you stop stripping the oils away, it's still producing more than it naturally would be.  For about the first 2 weeks you may notice your hair being more oily than you're used to.  Once your system realizes that it doesn't have to play catch-up anymore it'll subside.

Quoting liliem:

Thanks! Totally going to try this....

Quoting ncbirdie:

There's a small bit of vinegar smell after you use it, but once my hair dries there's no smell.  I don't use anything to give it a good smell, but you can find some essential oils that you like the smell of and add a few drops to either solution.

Quoting liliem:

How does your hair smell after? Is it ok? Do you put anyting else in it to give a good smell?

Quoting ncbirdie:

The original recipe I found for the baking soda solution was 1 T of baking soda to 8 oz of water.  When I started dealing with the dandruff, I read somewhere that this was an outdated ratio and that 1 tsp to 8oz of water is better and not as drying.  When I cut down to 1 tsp, it just wasn't getting my hair clean.  After playing around with it, I use about 3 T in 32 oz of water (I make a lot at once because we go through it so quickly).  That averages out to about 3/4 T to 8 oz.  The ACV solution was the same ratio and I haven't changed it any.

Quoting liliem: