Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

owned my own salon **ask me anything!!** UPDATE

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
I have been doing hair professionally for 10 years now. Owned my salon before I had kids. I decided to stay home with them but still continue my education.
Ive worked hair shows, and I've been an educator for a big name company.
Ask me anything!!
**I didn't realize I would get so many questions!! I promise to get to all you ladies!! I am currently in the process of a move so bare with me!! I will answer as fast as I can!!****
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 22, 2013 at 12:38 AM
Replies (21-30):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:01 AM
Never work at a chain salon. You will get stuck. You will not make much money.

Quoting Anonymous:

I heard its hard for people to get jobs doing anything but chain type salons out of school.

Quoting Anonymous:

Start small. Remember that in the hair world you know nothing. Find a nice up scale salon and work under a master stylist. That's where you will really learn to do hair. Go to every color class you can, thats where your money is.

Quoting Anonymous:

What's the best thing to do when you get out of beauty school? Have any advice for someone going through beauty school?

Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:01 AM
Nice, your salon must have kicked ass: )

Quoting Anonymous:

Around 100,000. But thats really really high. Most make around 25, 000.

Quoting Anonymous:

What was your yearly income?

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:02 AM
So better no job at all than a chain salon?

Quoting Anonymous:

Quoting Anonymous:

I heard its hard for people to get jobs doing anything but chain type salons out of school.

Quoting Anonymous: