Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

owned my own salon **ask me anything!!** UPDATE

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
I have been doing hair professionally for 10 years now. Owned my salon before I had kids. I decided to stay home with them but still continue my education.
Ive worked hair shows, and I've been an educator for a big name company.
Ask me anything!!
**I didn't realize I would get so many questions!! I promise to get to all you ladies!! I am currently in the process of a move so bare with me!! I will answer as fast as I can!!****
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 22, 2013 at 12:38 AM
Replies (211-218):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 24, 2013 at 9:18 PM
The longer you hair is the more damaged the ends are. Bc they are old. Hair has more elasticity when wet, meaning it stretches more. So damaged hair has even more elasticity than normal.
It was probably jacked up bc she didn't section small enough and rushed.

Quoting ForeverInLove:

Why is a wet cut bad?

I'm not a style person. My hair is either in a random point tail, or just left as is. My cut is always a blunt cut/straight across the bottom. No layers, no fancy crap. Just straight, and it's to only trim the end. I prefer it wet cut, because I've find a dry cut leaves it uneven on me. Had a dry cut once, and was disappointed. Mind you, my hair is long enough that I must move it when I go to the bathroom, lol.

So, why a dry cut? Wash and no wash are the same price here.

Quoting Anonymous:

Yes you should. Heres a stylist secret for ya, get a dry cut. Wash wnd style your hair before you go in and have them trim while its dry and styled the way YOU style it. You loose less length. They may argue bc its means less money for them so tip them very well!

I only suggest this for long hair.

Quoting Anonymous: