Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I hate it when people tell me to eat (*May trigger)

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 22 Replies
I have been struggling with anorexia and bulemia for almost 5 years. Things got better when I found out I was pregnant because I knew purging would be harmful to my baby. Now that LO is here, I'm finding it hard to eat again. I am a F/T student and don't really have time to sit down for a meal and sometimes I don't want to. When I do eat it is because I want my DC to have the proper nutrition, but sometimes I go overboard with sweets and feel the urge. LO is getting older though and I am forgetting my meals during the day and snacking on mostly unhealthy stuff. DH keeps bugging me about eating and so are family telling me not to worry about dropping weight, but I dropped down to my pre-baby weight 1 month after birth.

DH does not know about the purging and I think he views me not eating as just being irresponsible. I am afraid to tell him because I don't want him to think he needs to watch me and monitor my bathroom visits. Most of all, I don't want him to think that I am purging now and preventing LO from getting nutritious milk.
Should I tell him?

I DO try to incorporate real meals weekly with protein and vegetables, but this is about 3x per week. I snack on apples and plums every now and then too. I'm afraid that I will fall back into my old habits. And yes, I do have a therapist. I'm going to make another appoint next week.
Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 3, 2013 at 2:48 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
unsuspected
by Platinum Member on Apr. 3, 2013 at 2:51 AM
1 mom liked this
Are you nursing? That burns calories. But you need to eat to provide.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
Journeysmama11
by Silver Member on Apr. 3, 2013 at 2:52 AM
1 mom liked this