Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Parent transference toward a YOUNGER therapist?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 13 Replies
Is that at all common? My T is 6 years younger than I, and at last night's session he was giving off a natural scent that was unmistakably male, you know? At first, because we were focusing on my childhood sexual abuse, I was nervous there was an icky reason I was so conscious of his natural scent. But later, I realized that his natural scent reminded me of my late grandfather. My grandfather was my first farther figure and a wonderful man. I trusted him like I have never trusted any other man. When I realized that, I was comforted.

Do you think I should mention this to him, or would it offend him or make me seem too sick to do anything about? I'm new to therapy and very unsure of myself.
Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 3, 2013 at 10:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Apr. 3, 2013 at 10:19 AM
Bump because I'm really unsure of myself and could use some input. :(
thenameshailie
by Emerald Member on Apr. 3, 2013 at 10:21 AM

It is completely normal. I think you should tell him. I wouldnt say this qualifies as transference. He will not be offended and if it makes him uncomfortable or either of you feel as though it is hindering your sessions, he will refer you to a collegue

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Apr. 3, 2013 at 10:25 AM
Thanks. Do you think such a disclosure would be likely to make a therapist uncomfortable?

Quoting thenameshailie:

It is completely normal. I think you should tell him. I wouldnt say this qualifies as transference. He will not be offended and if it makes him uncomfortable or either of you feel as though it is hindering your sessions, he will refer you to a collegue

Jade_Lufercus
by on Apr. 3, 2013 at 10:26 AM