Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Why parents need time to themselves

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 16 Replies
1 mom liked this

I was reading this book called "Wine in my Sippy Cup" by Deborah Dove (it was a freebie in Amazon's Kindle store) and this one passage towards the end stood out to me:

"The oxygen mask makes me remember the flight attendant's instructions and suddenly it's all crystal clear.  Parenting in life isn't that different from parenting on an airplane.  If you're so intent on giving your children everything they need that you forget about yourself, you won't be able to help anyone.  You've got to give yourself the oxygen first.  You have to pursue your dreams and be your own person and do what gives your life joy and meaning, or you will be an empty shell.  I realize that's what I've been doing for the past seven years.  I've been so focused on getting the oxygen to my kids that I have totally forgotten to breathe myself."

I totally believe this and live my life according to this.  I love being with my kids and spending time with them, but just because I'm a mom doesn't mean my life ended.  I still have my own interests, hobbies, and life outside of my children.  I'm not just a mom.  Being a mom isn't all that I am.  

Are you a martyr mom?

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 15, 2013 at 9:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Kerannmer
by Platinum Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 9:44 PM

Gosh, no; I get a healthy, regular dose of "me time" and I enjoy it! I don't feel guilty one bit. I don't feel like I have to be with my daughter 24/7, and I don't think it'd be healthy to do that, either. She needs time without her momma, too.

KelliansMom
by Platinum Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 9:46 PM
1 mom liked this